Zora Neale Hurston Award



The prestigious Zora Neale Hurston Award is the highest honor awarded annually by the National Association of Black Storytellers, Inc.  This distinguished award is given in honor of folklorist/author Zora Neale Hurston. The award recognizes an individual who has contributed to the preservation and perpetuation of African American folklore.


Research is formalized curiosity. It is poking and prying with a purpose.” ~ Zora Neale Hurston

1985 Mary Carter Smith (MD)
Linda Goss (PA)
Paul Keens-Douglas (Trinidad)



Baba Jamal Koram (VA)                         2017        Patricia Mc Kissack  Posthumously
1986 Dr. William Faulkner (SC)
Dr. Hugh "Brother Blue" Morgan (MA)
Virginia Hamilton (OH) 


Tejumola Ologboni (WI)
Caroliese Frink Reed (PA) 
1987 Frank Smith (KY)


Dr. Daryl Cumber Dance (VA)


Doug & Frankie Quimby (SC)
Curtis "Cousin Wash" Hunt (CA)


Diane Ferlatte (CA)
Onawumi Jean Moss (MA) 

1989 Augusta Baker Alexander (SC)  2006

Clora Bryant (CA)
Jeannie & Jimmie Cheatham (CA)

1990 Danny Barker (LA) 2007

Linda Jenkins Brown (MD)
John O'Neale (LA)
Sonia Sanchez (PA) 


1991 Janie Hunter (SC)
Jackie Torrence (NC) 

Sharon Draper (OH)
Dr. John Fleming (OH)
Alice McGill (MD)
Diane Williams (MS) 


1992 Oscar Brown, Jr (CA)
Dr. Ruthe Sheffey (MD)

Charlotte Blake Alston (PA)
Stanley "Bunjo" Butler (MD)
Sharon Jordan Holley (NY) 


1993 Mahmoud El-Kati (WI)  2010

Mitch "Gran' Daddy Junebug (NC)

1994 Florence Brown-Hall (MI) 2011 Fellisco Keeling (MD)
1995 Catherine C. Blackwell, (MI) 2012 Karima Amin (NY)
Deborah Asante (IN)
Dr. Gladys Marie Fry (DC)
Dr. Joanne Martin (MD)
Dylan Pritchett (VA) 
1996 Ella Jenkins (IL) 2013 Barbara Eady (OH)
Vusi and Nothando Zulu (MN)



Leon Bibb (OH)

Ossie & Ruby Davis (NY)


Haki R. Madhubuti (IL)
Shanta Nurallah (IL)
Jan Spivey Gilchrist (IL)

1999  Eleanora E. Tate (NC)
Dr. John Hope Franklin (NC)

Willa Brigham (NC)
Howard Dodson, PhD ( DC)     
Eloise Greenfield (DC)



 Dr. David Anderson (NY)  2016
Dr. Molefi Kete Asante (PA)
Dr. Charles L. Blockson (PA)
Dr. Rex Ellis (VA)